#9-#10 Pre-Hard Rock Cafe Show

January 9, 2010

This morning I went out for a quick contemplative visit to the Frist museum (O’Keefe, Weber and other modernists plus Thomas Hart Benton), then to the store to pick up a few things for dinner. I had to get some things done around the house–mostly picking up mail and clothes, swiffering, but a couple small projects too.

I fixed ham, seasoned potato wedges and greens for dinner. Katie made Loveless biscuits and they brought drinks. It was a nice southern-style meal. For dessert, I seared (?) pears in a caramel sauce, baked them in the oven and served them with whipped cream. Katie said she almost licked her plate, so I take that as a good sign. Speaking of, the first time Katie came over was to a yard sale when the house was a wreck and I told Daniel she couldn’t come in. After that, (thankfully) it became a joke that she could only come in one room at a time. She was gracious as ever, so I don’t know what my problem was. Laura has been to a Halloween party and maybe another dinner–she is a great guest and already knew kinda what to expect.

After dinner, we went downtown to Hard Rock Cafe. My friend David played there tonight. He opened for another musician, and played a mixed set of old and new songs I caught myself singing along to. It’s been years since I’ve been to Hard Rock Cafe for visual overload and a cheeseburger, but they recently revamped their 2nd Ave restaurant with an upstairs music venue. We sat at the only chairs left at a table with a man who heckled David and made strange comments to us throughout. I could’ve taken him down, at least with the element of surprise (he was rotund), but it didn’t come to that.

#9 Laura O.
#10 Katie R.
Daniel L.

One Response to “#9-#10 Pre-Hard Rock Cafe Show”

  1. katie Says:

    i wish it had come to that. is that bad?

Leave a Reply

