#38-#39 Make your own food, fix the sink pipes

February 27, 2010

I looked forward to a quiet night with these three other women from work–these people in particular who are good at thoughtful conversation and relaxed company. With one friend observing a vegan Lenten fast, it was a good time to try out a new recipe for vegetarian gyoza–Japanese dumplings.

Interasian Market on Nolensville Rd. is where I went for the gyoza wrappers and some other ingredients. The store doesn’t take debit or credit cards, however, they did surprise me with their variety of and good prices on everything I was looking for. Everything for dinner, that is.

Teresa and Jonah came over early and she made dessert here–Cherry Dump Cake. If I had not seen her make it with my own eyes, I would not believe how easy it is! I’m adopting this as my go-to dessert. We noticed there was water on the floor while we were cooking, but it didn’t look like it was coming from anywhere, so we thought I knocked over something with water in it. . . . Anyway, Rachel and Natalie brought drinks.

I got the filling ready for the gyoza while the others arrived. Wee bit of information–cabbage is not a very welcoming smell. If I had been thinking, I would’ve steamed it much earlier and just had it ready in the fridge. With all the ingredients in little bowls, we started trying to put them together.

Natalie said “How did you know I like interactive food!” Well, I didn’t know for sure. I’ve been wanting to do “participation food” with a small group for a while (thanks, Jerry, for the encouragement there). Natalie folded her wrappers over the filling to make triangles while Rachel made box packets–Teresa and I didn’t really have our own styles. While they were working on that, I finished the rice and stir fried peppers and onions. Meanwhile, Jonah played on a blanket on the floor mostly amusing himself.

At first, I boiled the gyoza according to recipe instructions, but several of the packets fell apart in the water (I saved them for soup). Second attempt was to pan fry them–that worked much better. We ate about two dozen of them right up with the dipping sauce.

After dinner and delicious Dump Cake, we listened to music and talked about religion and politics–which you are never supposed to do–our perceptions, the arts and other tricky situations. I love being able to talk honestly among friends without the need for total agreement. I really think this was one of the first good conversations I’ve had in a long time.

When we were finishing up the dishes–thanks for drying, Rachel!–I noticed water on the floor again. Uh-oh. Natalie got under the sink and figured out where it was leaking, but I don’t have the right tool to fix it. Looks like a simple fix, thankfully.

I have some new ideas about the 100th guest. I’d love to bounce some ideas off you, so let me know if you want to chat about it.

Photos by me and nd.

#38 Rachel G.
#39 Natalie D.
Teresa T.
Jonah T.

Leave a Reply

