#48 Facebook Friend

August 19, 2010

This was a friendship match made on Facebook–the ubiquity we all love to hate in real life. (Apparently, ubiquity is actually a word because it is not red underlined like Facebook is. Grammatical fact: words used in sentences as word entities are to be italicized, not put in quotation marks.)

Jennifer and I were introduced a couple years ago through mutual friends; still, as neither of us are new-people people, we did not immediately strike up a friendship. Over time, though, we would both notice each other’s comments on friends’ walls. And I, for one, was often amused and by what she had to say. She posts articles on politics, religion and culture with which I mostly agree, and did on one occasion, re-post. If she wrote a blog on anything, I would read it.

So, when I got her wall message after my latest dinner, I grabbed the chance to have her over “asap.” I didn’t cook–it was spontaneous and I had good leftovers on hand that I reconfigured into bbq pork on Hawaiian rolls and a field greens and strawberries salad. We ate and talked for the first time, one-on-one, in person. Her recent trip to Canada, work, family, being a thinking person in this world–you know, the things people talk about.

That night I was just starting to get a whiff every once in a while of what I would later learn was a deceased animal near the intake of my air conditioner. I hope she can forgive me for the curious maleficent odor and come again!

#48 Jennifer T.

One Response to “#48 Facebook Friend”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Ha! Only if you forgive me for being only about half coherent. 😉 Lovely times!

Leave a Reply

