#49-#52 Woodbine Farmers’ Market Meal

September 8, 2010

Flatrock Cafe closed. The coffee shop to which I walked and where everyone knew my name will be sold at auction tomorrow. I haven’t wanted to talk about it because I was afraid it was a metaphor for my self and I would suddenly turn off also. Though that hasn’t happened, I admit I am less enthusiastic about my neighborhood than I was when it was open. Now, on to something good and what this post is really about . . . .

photo by Mary Crimmins

As far as homegrown neighborhood renewal goes though, I am proud that we do have a brand new Woodbine Farmers’ Market this year. (I was bragging about it last week and someone called me a yuppie. Hmmm? I don’t think he understood the meaning of the word, yet I got his snide slide.) I bought a t-shirt, I joined the Facebook group and I started shopping there with some like-minded Flatrockers: Chris and his sister Bethany. We get herbal lemonade (rosemary-lavender or basil-mint) and carry our partly-planned, partly-impulsive buys in official market bags. As I have played sous chef at their house a few times for other farmers’ market meals–notably with West Wind Farms’ meat, Noble Springs Dairy’s goat cheese and vegetables from Delvin Farms and Real Food Farms–I thought it was about time to invite the family over to my place.

photo by Mary Crimmins

We went to the market yesterday and I got everything on my list–except onions. I knew it was too early, but I was hoping someone had a freak variety harvested already. Chris bought some random meat and produce (there’s the last bunch of kale he is very excited about). We got bread, he stocked up on coffee and I indulged in another pint of the cute tiny tomatoes. The last of the peaches and melons were greeted by the beginning of apples and pears. Oh, I ran into my friend Susanna¬† (#34) as we were leaving–I do so love her!

I made Scratch Pizza for which I had to suspend my fear of yeast for the afternoon. The WFM newsletter last week suggested pizza, so it was on my mind. Then I adapted ingredients for one who eats neither meat nor cow dairy. In keeping with the grown-up casual dinner, I sliced sweet potatoes for chips. Chris deep fried the chips and baked the season’s first pears (with spices and local honey) while the rest of them got the tour and chatted at the other end of the room. Bethany served up drinks for the crowd.

My lunch tomorrow

When we finally sat down around the table, good company and a good meal was had by all. I always enjoy being around their family because they respect each other and enjoy being around each other; moreover, the wide age range of siblings makes for wide variety and humor in conversation. They also spend a lot of time together, so they have great repartee, somewhat like my family’s Sunday lunches. (They like to think they have Gilmore Girls repartee, but I politely hold that no one is that witty.) We ate green salad (with “creamy” or “runny” dressing!), tiny tomatoes, cucumbers, sweet potato chips and pizza–one Portobello with goat cheese feta and one Canadian bacon with asiago. Baked pears and apples with ice cream arrived for dessert. Fact: apples bake much faster than pears.

Kristen left early to go to a show with Eric, so the rest of us sat around and talked over coffee. We came up with some new booth ideas for the farmer’s market–maybe we’ll catch Mary next Tuesday if they still seem like good ideas. Sorry to Bethany that we couldn’t play a whole game tonight, at least you got a little Catchphrase. There will be other times; after all, I just live around the corner.

I’ll answer to one thing people say about farmers’ market food–that it’s more expensive than supermarket products. It’s true. It ends up about like the cost of a restaurant meal–more expensive than a simple home meal. During this harvest season though, I can afford to do that once a week (with plenty of leftovers to boot), especially because I’m not eating out as much. Plus, I am willing to pay more for food that tastes good, that I know where it comes from, that I can meet the people who cultivated it, and that supports people who do what they love for a living. If that makes me a yuppie, or whatever other term you want to use, I guess I am.

#49 Bethany S.
#50 Kristen S.
#51 Karen S.
#52 Tom S.
Chris S. (#41)

One Response to “#49-#52 Woodbine Farmers’ Market Meal”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    My brother called me a yuppie once. I think it was because I get a CSA box and occasionally go to Fido.

Leave a Reply

